Christian Azzopardi Dominates Round 2 of Malta Hill Climb Championship at Girgenti Siggiewi

The scenic backdrop of Girgenti in the precincts of Siggiewi set the stage for the second round of the 2024 Malta Hill Climb championship. Hosted by the Island Car Club Malta and proudly sponsored by Enemed, England Insurance, MeDirect Bank Malta, and The Point, the event showcased true local racing talent amidst challenging weather conditions.

Despite the inclement weather, which brought gusting winds during the afternoon sessions, spectators flocked to witness one of the most favourite motorsport disciplines in Malta. With meticulous attention to safety and efficiency, the organizing committee ensured a seamless running of the race, witnessing 63 entries ranging from standard road-legal vehicles to high-performance racing cars.

The demanding Girgenti hillclimb, characterized by a rapid sprint through a fast right-hander and a series of chicanes on the steep hill, culminated in a thrilling dash towards the finish line. Amidst minor incidents such as engine troubles and transmission failures, all drivers managed four timed runs.

Christian Azzopardi emerged as the fastest contender of the day, piloting his Group 5 Radical Clubsport to clock an impressive time of 34.587 seconds. Following him were Terence Vella, securing the second position in his Radical Clubsport Group 5 with a time of 35.135 seconds, and Jean Vella in his Jedi F1000 Group 6, posting a time of 36.274 seconds.

Notable triumphs included Didier Bugeja’s dominance in the front-wheelers category with his Peugeot 106, while Noel Galea roared to victory in the rear-wheel-drive category aboard his Ford Escort mk2. Josef Calleja showcased his skill in the 4-wheel drive category and street class, piloting his Subaru Impreza to glory, while Martina Caruana shone as the fastest female driver in her remarkable BMW One series.

Acknowledging the diversity of participants, Isaac Burlò claimed the title of the fastest Classic car driver of the day in his spirited Mini Minor. David Grech proved as the fastest veteran driver in his agile Ford Escort Mk2, while Nicholas Micallef clinched the title of the quickest under 25 driver at the wheel of his Honda Civic.

In the guest class, Craig Pace stole the spotlight, steering his BMW 1 series to victory. The event, impeccably managed by Josef Abela as Clerk of the Course, Jeremy Cassar as Deputy CoC, and an adept team of officials including Susanne Fenech, Adrian Figallo, Joe Formosa, and William England, showcased the best of Maltese hill climb racing.

As the championship progresses, anticipation mounts for the next round scheduled for April 28th, with the location yet to be confirmed.

Malta National Hill Climb Championship Round 2 Group Photo
Christian Azzopardi Dominates Round 2 of Malta Hill Climb Championship at Girgenti Siggiewi

World Pro Racing and the Malta Motorsport

error: Write your own content :)